Skip to content

Green color

Radon Testing PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 23 October 2008


     Due to the increasing demand, Micahel Hancock and Associates has now added Radon Testing to is list of inspection services.

       Radon is an ever growing presence.  There are homes in our area that contain potentially dangerous levels of Radon, and the unsuspecting homeowners don't even know it, or have never even heard of Radon.

What is Radon?

     Radon is a colorless, odorless and tasteless radioactive gas that occurs naturally in most rocks and soil.  It is produced by the breakdown of Uranium in soil, rock and water.  Radon is harmless dispersed in outdoor air, but when trapped in buildings can increase the risk of lung cancer, especially at elevated levels.

What is the health risk?

     According to the Surgeon Genreral, exposure to radon is the second leading cause of lung cancer in the United States.  According to the EPA's 2003 Assesment of Risks from Radon in Homes, radon is estimated to cause about 21,000 lung cancer deaths per year.  Radon is not known to cause other illnesses or problems such as upper respiartory infection, colds or allergic reactions.  It's only known health effect is the increased risk of developing lung cancer.

    

Last Updated ( Thursday, 23 October 2008 )
 
Our Services PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Friday, 06 October 2006

We inspect

  • single-family
  • multi-family
  • duplexes
  • fourplexes
  • apartments
  • condominiums
  • town homes
 
Buying a home: New or Old PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 21 September 2006

Of course a home inspection can identify problems that may not be seen by the untrained eye in an older home but new home construction will always be susceptible to errors and problems too.

Most of the work in a new home is Sub-Contracted out to the lowest bidder. the builder, no matter how good of a reputation can not possibly supervise all of the work that goes on in a new home.

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 11 October 2006 )
 
Pre- Inspection Agreement PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 21 September 2006

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

Dear Client,

The following report will tell you a great deal about the overall condition of this property. Following the Alabama Standards of practice & code of ~thics, our review is based on visible observations of readily accessible areas of the property at the time of inspection. As such, you may expect the condition of the property to change between the inspection date and the time you take possession. Conducting a complete walk-through just prior to closing will help you identify any conditions which may have changed since our inspection.

Realizing that all properties experience some degree of wear, cosmetic considerations are not within the scope of this report. Even the most comprehensive inspection cannot be expected to reveal every condition you may consider significant to ownership.

Furthermore, owning any building involves some risk and while we can give an excellent overview of the property as of the date of inspection, we cannot inspect what we cannot see. Moving furniture or any other objects, any dismantling, or lighting gas pilots are not within the scope of this inspection. This report is not an exhaustive technical evaluation, as such an evaluation would cost many times more than our standard inspection fee.

MAJOR SYSTEMS - Our evaluation of major systems is both visual and functional provided power and/ or fuel is supplied to the component. Identifying or testing for the presence of asbestos, radon, wood decaying funguses, lead based products or other potentially hazardous materials is not within the scope of this report. Judging the sufficiency of water flow in plumbing or the cooling efficiency of air conditioning is a subjective evaluation, therefore, we only note a poor condition if, in the inspector's opinion, the adequacy seems to be less than normal. We urge you to evaluate these systems prior to closing. Our review of interior rooms is visual and evaluated with similar aged home in mind. Cosmetic considerations and minor flaws such as a tom screen or an occasional cracked window may not always be reported. We do not evaluate damage caused by hail. If you have any questions regarding hail damage, please contact an insurance company.

DISMANTLING AND OR EXTENSIVE INSPECTION OF INTERNAL COMPONENTS OF ANY APPLIANCE, INCLUDING HEATERS AND HEAT EXCHANGERS IS BEYOND THE SCOPE OF THIS REPORT. THE LOCAL UTILITY COMPANY WILL CONDUCT SUCHAN INSPECTION UPON REQUEST.

Property Address Client Signature

If client and/or representative is not present to sign this agreement, these limitations become implied.

2601 Bonnie Oaks Dr. HUNTSVILLE, AL 35803 OFFICE 256.534.8416. MICHAEL CLAY HANCOCK 256.679.9923 WWW.HOMEINSPECTIONHUNTSVILLE.COM

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 06 January 2016 )
 
Welcome PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Friday, 15 September 2006

Your home is the single largest investment that you will ever make.

A home inspection is important for all home buyers, but especially for young, first-time home buyers. Since most first time buyers are working with a limited budget, it is essential to try to uncover any potential problems before closing. A home inspection can greatly reduce the risk of costly suprises.

A home inspection is a visual examination of all the major systems and components - from the foundation to the roof. Cosmetic items such as carpet, wallpaper etc ... are not included in a home inspection.

We inspect:

  • single family
  • multi-family
  • duplexes
  • fourplexes
  • apartments
  • condminiums
  • town homes
  • Radon Testing
Last Updated ( Wednesday, 06 January 2016 )
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>

Results 1 - 9 of 10





Lost Password?